2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
30 members (Cominut, Animisha, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, fullerphoto, admodios, busa, drumour, Foxtrot3, 3 invisible), 1,210 guests, and 271 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
G
ginn Offline OP
OP Offline
G
After a break of two years, I started playing piano. I could not sight read the music notations of treble and bass clef while I try to play the piano. Can any one suggest the simplest method to recover from this problem. I have passed up to grade 5 from Trinity guildhall exams. I can't understand where the problem is? Pl. help.

A
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
A
Almost certainly you are trying to read much too hard material. Start on really really basic material. I like this as a start:

Hannah Smith Progressive Sight Reading

Yes, it is really basic but that's the point. You can't decode music a note at a time, you have to learn to read it and you start with the world's simplest pieces.

• Debussy - Le Petit Nègre, L. 114
  • Haydn - Sonata in Gm, Hob. XVI/44

Kawai K3
[Linked Image][Linked Image][Linked Image]
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I suspect your teacher never taught you reading skills and you muddled through somehow. Something similar happened to me on another instrument. The question of skills never came up until one day I realized I was missing a bunch of them.

D
D
I'd try any of the method books ( I personally prefer the Alfred) and start at the very basic level and slowly, gradually and thoroughly browse through it and re-build your sight reading abilities. good luck !

Dror Perl. Pianist, Composer, Teacher.