Piano World Home Page
Posted By: MooganDavid CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/07/22 11:03 PM
Hello my friends hopefully someone will follow what I'm trying to do here using the yamaha cp-33. Will the 14 voice buttons on the front (while in master mode) send midi locations so I can automatically change my programs in Cantabile? It seems like when cantabile asks for a controller each button sends the same value. Is there a small midi switch box I could purchase to plug into my laptop that would serve the purpose. I have about 10 programs (songs) I made in Cantabile 2 Solo that I would like to get to faster than clicking the mouse on my laptop any ideas please? Thanks MooganDavid
Posted By: poly6 Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/07/22 11:21 PM
The manual for the CP-33 has this:

Quote
F74 Program Change On/Off

Normally the CP33 will respond to MIDI program change numbers received from an external keyboard or other MIDI device, causing the correspondingly numbered Voice to be selected on the corresponding channel (the keyboard Voice does not change). The CP33 will normally also send a MIDI program change number whenever one of its Voices is selected, causing the correspondingly numbered Voice or program to be selected on the external MIDI device if the device is set up to receive and respond to MIDI program change numbers.This function makes it possible to cancel program change number reception and transmission so that, for example,voices can be selected on the CP33 without affecting the external MIDI device.

For Information on program change numbers for each of the CP33's Voices, refer to MIDI Data Format page 51

So it seems like it should be able to do what you want but I don't have a CP-33. Check to see if this setting is On.
Posted By: MooganDavid Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/07/22 11:33 PM
Hi poly6 thanks for responding oh yeah I've read the manual inside and out and yes I have that turned on. Seems like all the 14 buttons have the same midi value. All my sounds are located in songs in cantabile I would like to get to instead of scrolling and clicking on my laptop. The cp33 is just for the keyboard basically. Thanks
Posted By: poly6 Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/08/22 12:39 AM
Pg 52 of the manual has a table that shows what program change # is associated with each internal voice selected, so it *should* be sending a different program change # for each voice. You can verify that if you have an app to show midi messages on your PC. The problem might be with getting Cantabile setup to recognize and react to the program changes properly. It's been a very long time since I've used Cantabile so I can't help you there.
Posted By: MooganDavid Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/08/22 05:51 AM
actually I'm getting it to work but it seems like it gets confused though along with me. (*.16 Bank Select LSB Settings for MIDI Transmission to an External Tone Generator) some voices have the same LSB values the ones that have different values work fine the ones that have a value of 122 seem to get confused. I got those values off that chart you referred me to. Midi data format
Posted By: MooganDavid Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/08/22 11:05 PM
Finally figured out what was going on. If you notice in that midi chart for the voices they have mostly set to 122 msb each button needs to be a different value in order to work properly so I chose my own values not repeating any and it worked flawlessly. Thanks for your reply and at least you pointed me in the right direction. MooganDavid
Posted By: poly6 Re: CP33 as a master keyboard question - 01/09/22 10:04 AM
Glad I was able to point you in the right direction!
© Piano World Piano & Digital Piano Forums