Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Ajax69 Good speakers for MP11SE? - 09/22/20 08:25 AM
Hi everyone.

I know this cat has been skinned a zillion times in different ways in this forum. And elsewhere. But those threads usually have as many different viewpoints as there are posts in them. Which leaves me more than a little confused. So - I read them all (more or less), talked to a LOT of people and tried to narrow my options to a shortlist of my own. But I'm new at this so please excuse if I'm totally off track here.

My requirements and prerequisites are as follows:

1. The instruments: Primarily Kawai MP11SE. But occasionally my Hammond XK-3c
2. Used at home. Room roughly 12 x 24 ft with a 8 ft ceiling. No big audiences, primarily harassing family members. And the dog.
3. I want two speakers for stereo sound. No subwoofer
4. I don't need high volumes, but "high quality" sound in both bass, middle and high tone registers
5. I'm also looking for decent representation of the XK-3c integrated Leslie simulator
6. I believe active studio monitors will do the job
7. My budget is $ 500 - 700 (total)

Now here's my shortlist:
- 2 x Yamaha HS8
- 2 x Adam Audio T8V
- 2 x Adam Audio A8X (twice my budget, but I might stretch this far if these are clearly superior)

Would really appreciate your feedback on this.

Stay safe, everyone!
Posted By: giu Re: Good speakers for MP11SE? - 09/22/20 08:55 AM
I have tried 10s of speakers before settling on Genelec 8330 which are outside your budget. Within your budget the IK Multimedia iLoud MTM were the ones I liked the most.
Posted By: Abdol Re: Good speakers for MP11SE? - 09/22/20 01:42 PM
I'd go with HS8. You can sell them easily. They retain good resale value and you can easily sell them to buy better monitors later when you have deeper pockets.

HS series is industry standard and there is a good market for used ones. You can find used HS series in great conditions too.