Piano World Home Page
Hello! This is my first post to the forum.

I've been playing classical piano for 8 months now and about to finish my first book F. Beyer op 101. I am currently practicing with Casio PX-S1000 but i would like to get a better instrument. The sound is very nice with headphones but i would like to have a more high quality action.

I went to music shop for the first time to test digital pianos, here is my honest beginner impression:
- NU1: Felt bit like a piano for children, short key travel and light action. Sound with headphones was nothing special. Noisy action. Cheap as it was used.
- N1X: Sounded bit dull, really light to play and didn't feel worth the price at all. Before trying i assumed that it must truely a great piano but after playing it felt just ok.
- CLP-665GP: Was ok but not impressing
- CLP-695GP: Best sounds with headphones, best touch
- Roland FP-90, liked the action but unsure about the sound, i might try out LX-706 if i can find one
- Kawai: not tried out any yet

In internet forums everyone is saying that hybrids is way to go and Yamahaha 685/695 have heavy and strange actions. I expected as a beginner that quality hybrid actions have some resistance and heaviness but they felt almost too light which was surprising. Should i just get a hybrid and learn to like it or go with the one i like now (Clavinova CLP or even Roland)? Or is there something wrong with my fingers or ears as im just a beginner? laugh
Jack-

I'm also a beginner, and have the PX-S3000. I'd suggest waiting as long as possible before upgrading, as digital pianos are pieces of technology and the longer you wait the bigger the jump will be when you upgrade. I'm waiting for built-in audio interfaces and MIDI 2.0 to be standardized before considering buying another digital piano or keyboard, which would be for my son to take to college as a music student in the fall of 2021.