Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Jwhit0007 Replace CLP380 with DP or acoustic GP - 11/16/19 04:10 PM
Hi All,

First post but I have been reading/viewing for a few months now.

I took several years off from playing due to life/work obstacles and i am assessing several options as i start up again. My overall experience level is that I studied under a pretty strict classical teacher between the age of 6 - 16. My interest is more blues/jazz than classical but I do like playing some classical pieces (mostly Chopin).

Back to my dilemma..

Several years ago when i was starting up again from a long break i purchased CLP-380. At the time, it was considered one of the best DPs and it was an upgrade from a Casio DP. At the time I went the DP route because i lived in a townhouse and was concerned about the noise. In addition, I am extremely self conscious about practing where others can hear.

Now that I am starting up again there have been a lot of improvements over the past 10 years with DPs/hybrids since i purchased the CLP 380.

I practice 80% of the time using headphones so that’s how i based my ranking below. My dilemma is should i upgrade to a new hybrid or just continue to use the clp-380 since I primarily use headphones and just wait an upgrade to an acoustic GP in a year or s two which is my eventual end goal (to be able to play well enough to justify a GP either new or used).

Right now i am leaning towards upgrading the CLP to one of the following. However, i haven’t yet played any of these models yet because I am waiting to get a little more practicing under my belt so I can better differentiate the pro/cons between each.

1) Yamaha N1X - i ranked this over the NV10 because of the headphone use (binaural effect?)
2) Kawai NV10
3) Yamaha NU1X
4) Kawai NV5 (when its avail in US)
5) Yamaha N3X (if i went this route i mostly likely wouldn’t upgrade to an acoustic GP for several years)