Piano World Home Page
Posted By: pppianomarc Kawai NV5 - 11/15/19 01:57 AM
On Monday I received my Kawai NV5. I ordered it right away in early August when the announcement was made. Unseen and without trying it, yet it promised to be almost exactly what I was looking for. Now it stands in front of me I am absolutely happy with it!

About me:

I started learning piano just two years ago. My previous piano is a Kawai CN37, and once per week I get to play on my teachers acoustic Yamaha upright. The motivation to upgrade my piano was to make it look and feel more like an acoustic one.

Unfortunately I can't own a real acoustic right now, and getting one with a mediocre silent system feels like a downgrade to me. So, about one year ago, I decided to get the best in digital now, and complement it with a good acoustic later when time comes. However I couldn't decide which model is best for me. On my final list were Kawai CS11, CS98, NV10, and Yamaha N1X. But each of them had disadvantages, too, or wasn't enough of an upgrade. So I kept waiting for a new model, or for my living situation to change.

Why I chose the NV5:

When the NV5 was announced, it checked all the boxes. In particular it tops the other candidates because of the real piano action, the soundboard, the size, the polished finish, and it comes with the same two voices that I use on my old CN37.

I also set my expectations about the weak points and unknowns. I didn't mind the upright action, although some consider it inferior to a grand action. Around here most pianos are uprights, and I was looking for realism, so there. I also knew the touchscreen is quirky, but most alternatives have usability issues too. I didn't expect any serious audio quality problems, because the CA98 uses similar technology (and there were lessons learned with the NV10). The same goes for the hammer attachment which is said to be slightly different in the NV5.