Piano World Home Page
Hi everybody!

First of all I want to say that I am new to both playing piano, and the midi/software side. I would also like to say that my english isn't that good....but I hope I can find the words to explain what my problem is.

I bought a Yamaha CSP-170 a couple of months ago, and I like it very much! For my untrained ears it sounds pretty good.

I stumbled over some Youtube videos of people playing piano with midi kontrollers and software instruments.....I especially liked NOIRE Piano from Native Instruments.

So I first ordered a Focusrite 2i4, a couple of Presonus E5 monitors, and all the cables I needed and hooked it up. I also have a pair of Audio Technica M50. I have this connected to my Macbook Pro.

Before buying any software I wanted to try out some free stuff.....so I have so far tested out the following;

Garage Band
NI Komplete
Pro Tools First
Addictive Keys
Pianoteq (free demo)

And they all sound pretty bad.....compared to the sound coming from my Yamaha, and especially Youtube videos I have watch, where people review all these different programs.

I have found sounds that sound amazing in some of these programs....but when it comes to piano sound, it's terrible. The best piano sound I have found is the one that comes with Pro Tools, and to my surprise....the worst one is Pianoteq!

Im not sure how to explain the sound.....but it sounds like a piano in a tight room.....with a electric, metallic sound on top......almost like a grand piano sound, and then on top of that is someone playing with a toy keyboard for 50 bucks! I also feel like it sounds a bit false, and that the pitch is slightly going up and down.

There must be something Im missing.....because I don't think it should sound like this. I was expecting and hoping that it might even sound better than the sound from my Yamaha.....but as for right now, I would probably rate the sound from the Yamaha as 8/10, and the sound Im getting from Pianoteq 3/10