Piano World Home Page
Posted By: JimB1 A beginner’s review of the Yamaha P125 - 01/13/19 01:18 PM
I know this is one of the options most of us beginners ask about so I figured I’d give my review after owning it for 3 weeks and having been in classes for two weeks. I have no previous knowledge of piano prior to this so hopefully this will give an absolute beginner an idea of what to expect...

First, the piano I am using in class is a Young Chang grand (don’t know what the model number is for this one) so I can compare the Yamaha to that piano for things like keyboard feel.

Build:
Seems like a solid build as expected from Yamaha. The key tolerances are tight (no wiggling to speak of) and the switches seem sturdy. Seems a well built DP overall.

The included foot pedal works but isn’t so good on carpet and flips around a lot on me. I understand it’s small and portable but I may have to buy the larger, more realistic shaped sustain when I get a little further along.

Connectivity:
Ports are; single sustain foot pedal, 3 pedal, USB, 2 headset jacks, aux out.
As a beginner I don’t need any more than these, advanced players may miss a dedicated Midi out.

Controls:
I did go out and get the connector so I can use my iPad and the Smart Pianist app which is kind of neat but I find it’s faster most of the time to use the keystrokes to make normal changes.

The Rhythm and Metronome controls took me about a minute to memorize and changing instruments and layering was maybe 2 minutes more. I do like the app for recording though. I haven’t used any or the advanced features of the app like getting chord charts from music in iTunes or transposing music. Maybe at some point I will use those.

Generally I’d say the piano features in the app are convienances but so far all the things I need as a beginner are easily accessible using the buttons and keys as well.

Sound: