Piano World Home Page
Greetings,

I've been looking for a digital piano for about a month now and after browsing various sources, I am still quite unsure about which piano is the best choice for me.

Long story short, I used to play the piano for a couple of years during school, but then decided to switch to guitar/drums. I know some theory, so I'm not a complete beginner and I'm mainly interested in piano sound and feel. Also, I would prefer a furniture-style digital piano over a portable.

My current list includes the following:

Casio AP 460, ~950E
Casio AP 650, ~1300E
Casio PX 870, ~950E
Kawai KDP 90, ~900E
Kawai CN 27, ~1300E
Korg C1 Air, ~1000E
Korg G1 Air, ~1300E
Roland F140R, ~900E
Roland HP504, ~1350E
Roland RP501R, ~1100E
Yamaha CLP 625, ~1150E
Yamaha YDP 163, ~900E
Yamaha YDP 143, ~700E

I managed to get my hands on some of the above pianos and although I don't have enough experience, here's what I thought:

Casio AP pianos: I didn't like the keys much, I thought they were too noisy
Roland F140R: I liked it overall, but the sound was a bit "artificial", especially compared to the YDP 163 (not a deal-breaker though)
Yamaha YDP 163: this was the piano that I liked the most from the ones I tried. The keys were a bit heavier than the rest, but it was still very enjoyable
Yamaha CLP 625: it felt similar to the YDP 163. I couldn't notice something extremely different. Is there any reason to get this instead of the YDP 163?

Please feel free to recommend pianos that I've missed or pianos that cost a bit more, but have distinct advantages over the ones I've listed.
Those Casios are overpriced. Korg is not so good compared to the alternatives. The ydp 163 and clip 625 are decent I guess, but not my cup of tea. I'm not very fond of the action.
From the list above, personally I would go for the Roland HP504, which I have and has great keys. Presently I use it with piano sounds generated by the computer (VST).