Piano World Home Page
Posted By: JB_PW Frequent indecision about teacher - 10/18/20 05:44 PM
I’m intermediate and I’ve been working with my teacher for just over 2 years. There a lot of ‘pros’ to working with her, but enough ‘cons’ that I’ve been going back and forth about looking for someone else for over a year. I’m not satisfied with how my lessons go in general, but I’m still learning enough tidbits from her here and there that I can’t say I’m not getting my money’s worth (her rates are incredibly low). I also like her personally, and she regularly expresses how much she enjoys working with me (I’m the only non-beginner adult in her studio).

At a minimum, I feel like I could use a different perspective…and maybe a reality check I guess. I hate to complain about being praised too much, but it often does not feel deserved. I’m afraid she’s too focused on building my confidence and making my lessons a “feel-good” experience.

One reason I have not decided to move on yet is that I would likely have to accept online lessons, which I’m not really excited about. Maybe the experience with someone who does this regularly would be OK. I had a handful of online lessons with this teacher in the spring (out of necessity) and I really did not enjoy that at all. I’m also a little worried I might be required to do weekly lessons with a new teacher…I prefer every other week.

Are video exchanges vs. live online teaching becoming common at all? I think I might prefer that, although I’m curious about the fee structure for that kind of arrangement.

Is it terrible form to look into some new teachers and possibly take a few trial lessons prior to ending my current arrangement?

JB
Posted By: ShiroKuro Re: Frequent indecision about teacher - 10/18/20 06:16 PM
So, first, to this:
Is it terrible form to look into some new teachers and possibly take a few trial lessons prior to ending my current arrangement?