Piano World Home Page

How can I improve long term memory?

Posted By: Chemblue

How can I improve long term memory? - 05/15/19 08:45 PM

I know that my piano playing is better when playing from memory which my teacher agrees with. I have been playing piano since November 2016 aged 55. I do not do grades but used Abrsm to measure progress. My new teacher is fantastic and has taken my piano playing to the next level and currently working on Beethoven Sonata 14 1st movement. Sometimes I can play from memory and then another practice session forget. Why.

Regards

Blessings to you
Posted By: pianoloverus

Re: How can I improve long term memory? - 05/15/19 09:47 PM

Do you have a plan and/or different techniques you use to memorize a piece? There are a lot of PW threads on the different techniques one can use to help memorization.
Posted By: Sam S

Re: How can I improve long term memory? - 05/15/19 10:08 PM

Seems that we have discussed this a lot recently - if my memory is not failing! Different techniques work for different people, so you will need to find what works for you.

- Repetition
- Drilling
- Analysis of form
- Analysis of harmony
- Memorize what the page looks like (Ack! Doesn't work for me...)
- Memorize how it sounds
- Give names to sections that help you remember what happens there ("Low Bb", "c minor arp"), and even say the names out loud at the right time.
- My go-to technique - do whatever it takes to memorize a short section, and never look at the score again for that section - OK, I exaggerate, but divorce yourself from reliance on the score early in the process.

Sam

Re: How can I improve long term memory? - 05/15/19 10:17 PM

Thank you for your responses. The problem I have is that I seem to be able to play from memory for a number of weeks then suddenly struggle to remember. I am going through a difficult emotional time caring for my dying mother. Would this effect memory or is that just an excuse.

Look forward to receiving any advice