Piano World Home Page

May Piano Bar

Posted By: Tim Adrianson

May Piano Bar - 05/01/19 01:59 PM

Mood Island -- Erroll Garner arr Sy Johnson

Well, I'll start off the Piano Bar for this month -- here is the first of three submissions: a "tip of the hat" to the great Jazz pianist Erroll Garner. The first two are from a collection entitled "The Erroll Garner Songbook", which Cherry Lane Publishers issued shortly after Garner's sudden death at 53 years of age in 1977. Their biographical notes sum up what I remember about Garner: "Erroll Garner was a child prodigy...He was exposed to traditional music training; however, these attempts were foiled by his remarkable ear and incredible aural memory. Garner memorized everything at one hearing, eliminating the need to read. Musically self-taught, he created a new, original style and became a dominant influence on contemporary piano."

Again drawing from their notes: "'Mood Island' was written at a remarkable recording session in 1970 which also produced 'Something Happens (Feeling is Believing)'. It was composed and recorded in one take, as were the three other compositions from the same date...The album 'Feeling is Believing' was voted best jazz piano album of 1970 worldwide by readers of 'Jazz and Pop Magazine'".

Re: May Piano Bar - 05/01/19 02:11 PM

Eldorado -- Erroll Garner arr Sy Johnson