Piano World Home Page

April Piano Bar

Posted By: jazztpt

April Piano Bar - 04/02/19 09:48 AM

I'll kick off the bar again this month with a few tunes of mine.

First off is 'One Two and Three' which I have been playing around with for a few months.

One Two and Three

Next up is 'New Lifetime' , I posted the improvisation (jazz) section last year with the ending removed, a few were interested so I have included it here, the ending recorded using midi and a Yamaha SY35 synth about 25 years ago, for the time I think the sounds are pretty decent. (jump to 3:40 if you just want to listen to the ending)

New Lifetime

And just for fun here is one from the archive , this is a tune called 'Truthfully' and I can say truthfully I have no idea why. In this one a band turned up to the Bar and played some elevator music :-)
Again all recorded using midi and the Yamaha SY35 synth. Production is basic by todays standards but it was 25 years ago and I had no idea what I was doing lol.

Truthfully

Thanks for listening
Posted By: Pianist685

Re: April Piano Bar - 04/02/19 03:57 PM

Jazztpt - One, Two and Three Not a waltz as I was expecting from the title, but very, very pleasant music. I could sing along the words "One, two and three" with the first notes of the melody. The piece is lacking a lyric. EDIT: Oh, I just realized your composition must be written in 6/8 time, at least the way you are playing it sounds like that.
New Lifetime Very jazzy and freely played. A new lifetime... Isn't that what we all want?
Truthfully Very good elevator music, indeed. I would love to hear this tune when I take an elevator next time.

I recently recorded a couple of pieces by the Korean New Age composer Yiruma, I find quite nice with his treble oriented, slightly syncopated style. Here is my latest work from yesterday. I am playing this piece a little faster than Yiruma himself, trying to let it sound less “cornball”.

Yiruma, Maybe
Posted By: IosPlayer