Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Elian Piano beginner sight reading question - 03/30/19 04:36 PM
Hello,

I'm an adult self-taught piano beginner and I'm a bit stuck when it comes to playing piano by sight reading pieces written in keys that have flats or sharps in their signature. Since sight reading is focused more on playing by reading the distance between two notes rather than identifying each individual note on the staff, I find it impossible playing without manually writing the sharps and flats across the whole staff beforehand.

For example, if a piece is written in, let's say, D major which has two sharps (F# & C#), I have the tendency to play the A to C# interval as if it was A to C natural, because I do not see the #, so I would greatly appreciate if someone could give me some tips and pointers on how to correct this. smile
Posted By: FrankCox Re: Piano beginner sight reading question - 03/30/19 04:57 PM
I think it just takes time. I used to get kind of freaked out when I saw something with four or five sharps in the key signature too, but now I just play it.

One thing that it took me a while to realize (and that is useful to know) is that the sharps and flats work up and down on the black keys. What I mean by that is that one sharp is the black key on the left of the groups of three. One flat is the black key on the right of the groups of three. Two sharps are the black keys on the left of both the groups of three and the group of two. And three sharps are the two black keys on the groups of three and one on the groups of two. And so on. Sharps work up from the left and flats work down from the right; both sharps and flats use the same pattern but starting from the opposite ends of the black key groups.