Piano World Home Page
Posted By: dynamobt Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 08:00 PM
Now that I have been dragged kicking and screaming into Windows 10, my computer guru tells me that Audacity is not compatible.

All I really need is a program to convert WAV files to mp3. I never was savvy enough on Audacity to do a lot of editing.

So what program are people using now to convert WAV files to recital ready mp3?
Posted By: Chrispy Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 08:37 PM
Your "guru" is wrong. Here is Audacity running just fine on one of my Windows 10 machines.

[Linked Image]
Posted By: dynamobt Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 08:47 PM
No kidding!? I’ll have to try an upload it myself. Thanks!!
Posted By: BruceD Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 08:53 PM
I agree with squidbot; I have been running Audacity on Windows 10 for several years.

If I remember correctly, you may have to download LAME for Windows to make Audacity compatible, but don't quote me on that.

Regards,
Posted By: JohnSprung Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 10:47 PM
Originally Posted by BruceD
I agree with squidbot; I have been running Audacity on Windows 10 for several years.

+1
Posted By: ebonykawai Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 02/28/19 11:50 PM
Originally Posted by JohnSprung

+1

Same
Posted By: ee375 Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 03/01/19 12:45 AM
How about this? Not sure of the quality though
https://wav-to-mp3.file-converter-online.com/
Posted By: bSharp(C)yclist Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 03/01/19 01:36 AM
https://www.audacityteam.org/download/windows/
Posted By: jotur Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 03/01/19 03:27 AM
Audacity on Windows 10 here -
Posted By: peterws Re: Windows 10 Audacity question - 03/01/19 06:11 AM
Originally Posted by dynamobt
Now that I have been dragged kicking and screaming into Windows 10, my computer guru tells me that Audacity is not compatible.