Piano World Home Page
Posted By: thomascarding Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 02:33 PM
Hi all,

A couple of months ago I started a project to see if it's possible to get to Grade 8 piano (ABRSM) from scratch in just a year. If anyone is interested in checking out my progress, you can find my blog here: www.proficiencyproject.com

Cheers,
Tom
Posted By: bennevis Re: Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 02:51 PM
Do you have prior knowledge of music from playing another instrument? Don't forget you have to have Grade 5 Theory to do the Grade 8 Practical.

Are you a child prodigy?
Posted By: thomascarding Re: Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 03:06 PM
I have some experience playing guitar and used to play the drums (though stopped about 10 years ago). I wanted to learn a skill that I had no prior knowledge of though, so this is pretty much from scratch -I'm learning theory and how to read music as I go. Unfortunately Im not a child prodigy - I'm 28. I think it's such a shame when people think 'I'm too old to learn something new now, if only I'd done it as a child' - so part of me wants this project to prove that adults can learn new skills just as quickly as children can :-)
Posted By: bSharp(C)yclist Re: Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 03:11 PM
How much time a week are devoting to this? I'm curious, what are the differences between the grade levels?
Posted By: f3r Re: Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 03:17 PM
This is very interesting... you practice like 5/6 hours a day on average which can be quite hard. During Christmas holiday I practiced 6/7 hours a day and it was heavy, how do you organise your days and practice time?
Posted By: bennevis Re: Grade 8 from scratch in one year - 03/14/16 03:18 PM
Originally Posted by thomascarding