Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Schroeder II When do you become a "musician" - 11/17/12 07:07 PM
New member second post.
Just looking for opinions on what makes a player a musician.
Does it occur the first time you play a song?
The first time you read music and play a song without a mistake for the first time?

Or do you need to be a paid performer to be classed as a musician.

Posted By: Toastie Re: When do you become a "musician" - 11/17/12 07:15 PM
Interestng question and one that i've also wondered myself. I feel as though it comes with competence. I have been learning for a couple of months, but I definitely don't feel like a musician yet even though piano occupies most of my waking thoughts. I can't yet make any music that I would share as something that others would enjoy listening to. I ask my teacher every week how long before it sounds like music - even when I get it all right it still sounds amateurish and clumsy - hence not yet feeling I am making music.

It doesn't actually matter that much though as long as you enjoy it.
Posted By: Mark... Re: When do you become a "musician" - 11/17/12 07:40 PM
When playing become a major part of your life regardless of skill level...
Posted By: Toastie Re: When do you become a "musician" - 11/17/12 07:52 PM
Originally Posted by Mark...
When playing become a major part of your life regardless of skill level...

That would make me one, but I think you have to feel you are one too and I don't yet.
Posted By: Whizbang Re: When do you become a "musician" - 11/17/12 08:04 PM
I've played a very long time, but I still don't feel like a musician. A music-MAKER, yes, but not a musician.

My partner is a director and he was giving a seminar to a bunch of local actors. He asked them not about what makes a musician but about what makes an artist. His definition resonates with me.

He says you become an artist when you get the letter.

What letter?