Piano World Home Page
Posted By: David Krappon Rusty piano strings - 06/24/02 02:48 AM
Howdy folks,

I restore vintage electronic and acoustic musical instruments, however, I'm relatively new to acoustic pianos. Anyhow, I recently bought a Yamaha CP70 stage grand piano for $120(Australian).
For those unfamilliar with this model, its a 73 note, small scale grand piano with transducer pickups on the strings for use in FOH PA systems and Rock concerts. I had been after one of these rarities for over 10 years.

It's a basket case that a guy had sitting in his garage in peices for about 8 years, in fact the only thing that is completely assembled is the iron harp assy complete with the strings and electronics. This is the most complex project I have ever undertaken.

What I would like to know from everyones far superior knowledge is regarding rusty strings.

The iron harp frame and strings all have suface rust, and I was wondering, if I should get rid of all the existing strings clean the frame repaint it and re-stringing all of the 73 notes?

Is sanding back, re-painting the iron harp frame and re-stringing a crazy suggestion?
Or is there a far simpler solution?

Cheers,

David

PS: I know this place is just about pianos, but I have successfully rebuilt a number of instruments including a 1973 Hammond X5 organ and a 1965 Hohner electric piano (similar to a Fender Rhodes). Please don't go nuts at me I'm only new here.
Posted By: Brian Lawson, RPT Re: Rusty piano strings - 06/24/02 08:04 PM
Hi, you must take sizes of all the strings, there will be progressivly different thicknesses which need to be measured, for the bass strings they will need to be send as a set for duplicating unless Yamaha has a spare set laying in a wharehouse somewhere.

As it is build like a piano, to restring it must be approached as you would restring a piano - note the neatness of the coils, e.g. you dont put strings on and tie them off as most guitarists do!