Piano World Home Page
Posted By: MattH22 Acrosonic Problem - 01/08/21 06:08 PM
Hello, I'm a newer technician. I've been tuning for awhile but I'm still learning how to do a lot of repairs. I've been having a problem with my own 1947 Acrosonic piano and can't seem to figure out what to do.

In the lower range, the hammer rail falls down so the hammers can't rest on it. The rest of the hammers on the piano rest on the rail. When playing a note in the low range, the hammer will fall below where it normally rests on the rail and then is unable to make it back up when trying to repeat the note. Years ago, I hired a technician to fix it. He tightened the una chorda pedal dowel to raise the hammer rest rail so the hammers fell back on it. This only worked temporarily though. It seems to fall down after time. It also seems that it needs to be raised so high that it affects the sound and play as if you were to have the una chorda pedal down half way at all times. This is because the rest of the rail is fine.

Last year, I learned how to re-pin jacks and hammer butts. I had repaired pianos that seemed to have the same problem as mine, as far as the hammers not going up, by either re-pinning or just stretching out the jack spring and adding some Protek to the jack flange. On my Acrosonic, the hammers all fall fine. I took the action out and the jacks all seem fine. I tried stretching the springs and adding protek just in case it helped but it made no difference. The problem seems to be the hammer rail dipping down too much on the lower end and I can't figure out what to do about it.

Here's a picture if that helps