Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Coda9 Is it possible to rebuild Steinway sound - 05/25/19 12:11 AM
I’m a pianist (not technician) seeking a model D or B Steinway to purchase and hoping I might ask your understanding and opinions about totally rebuilding a Steinway piano from case only . In this situation only the case remains to begin rebuilding a Steinway instrument . Can the tonal characteristics that produce a Steinway “Sound” be re-created? If this is possible what aspects of the rebuild contribute to making the finished piano recognizable as producing a Steinway sound? Does the wood of a vintage Steinway case contribute to producing a Steinway sound?
Thanks for any observations on this rebuild situation . Or if you know an article recommended for reading on this topic that would be wonderful also .
Coda9
Huge subject and there are many, many "opinions" about it.

I will just point out that Steinway has two factories, NY and Hamburg. Both factories use significantly different soundboards from one another. Both use significantly different hammers from one another. Both use different strings from one another. Yet both are Steinway's.

So there seems to be a range of approaches to get the Steinway sound.

I have heard many rebuilt Steinway's and some sound wonderful, others sound awful. Same can sometimes be said for new Steinway's.

I suggest you visit some rebuilders shops to sample their work. You would be welcome at mine located in the Seattle area.
Posted By: Coda9 Re: Is it possible to rebuild Steinway sound - 05/25/19 10:53 AM
OK hEd, I am more likely to search for a New York Steinway . And on the topic of soundboards , if a rebuild of a vintage Steinway needed a new soundboard , what would be the best choice to aim for the Steinway ”sound?” Would it be possible to form a soundboard outside of the Steinway factory in New York that could contribute to capturing the steinway character ?