Piano World Home Page

Regulating Hammer Blow Distance

Posted By: asb37

Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/17/18 10:06 PM

I am a amateur learning how to tune and regulate pianos. I have a basic question about regulating blow distance.

When setting the blow distance in a piano, should all hammers be set to an even hammer line? If so, won't the blow distance in the bass be higher than the blow distance in the rest of the piano, given that the bass strings sit higher than the normal steel strings?

For example, in my piano, if I regulate the bass hammers to 1 3/4 in, they are higher than the rest of the hammers because the bass strings sit higher in the piano, causing an uneven hammer line.
Posted By: BDB

Re: Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/17/18 10:19 PM

The hammer line is measured from the string to the tip of the hammer at rest. The tips of the bass hammers are the same distance from the string, not from the hammer rest, so the line is uneven if the piano is overstrung.
Posted By: Chris Leslie

Re: Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/17/18 10:23 PM

If you look at the hammers you will see that the bass hammers are indeed set back relative to the treble hammers by the same amount as the strings are.

Re: Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/18/18 01:34 AM

Thanks for the replies.

In my piano, the entire line of hammers was set even, so the travel for the bass hammers was 2 in, and the rest of the piano 1 3/4in or so.

So, the proper regulation would be to set the bass hammers to 1 3/4 in, correct? In this case, the bass hammers will be 1/4 in or so higher than the rest of the hammers. This piano is overstrung.

Posted By: BDB

Re: Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/18/18 02:08 AM

What make of piano is it? That much of a difference in the hammer blow would make a big difference in the playability.

Re: Regulating Hammer Blow Distance - 01/18/18 03:58 PM