Piano World Home Page

New Owner of a U1 ... Question

Posted By: poggler

New Owner of a U1 ... Question - 02/19/13 04:11 PM

I'm the proud new father of a Yamaha U1. It was just delivered yesterday and (for the most part) sounds in-tune. I'm going to be following the instructions the dealer gave me to wait about a month before I have it tuned for the first time.

I'm a very amateur piano player. I took lessons many years ago. I noticed there appears to be a slight rubbing sound when I press a C#... the one in the set below middle C. It's very slight but still noticeable when playing lightly. It's a soft rubbing like a piece of felt or very light wood or something.

Is this a normal occurrence? Is it something the tuner will be able to look at and/or fix (if there's anything wrong) in the tuning or is this something I should have looked at by a repair technician?

Thanks.
Posted By: Supply

Re: New Owner of a U1 ... Question - 02/19/13 05:08 PM

Ideally the tuner will be well versed in technical adjustments and repairs. Be sure to mention the sound when you schedule the tuning appointment.

There is a chance that some small piece of debris has fallen in between the two keys, causing the rub. You can try running something thin and stiff like a credit card between the offending keys to see if you can dislodge anything.
Posted By: Jerry Groot RPT

Re: New Owner of a U1 ... Question - 02/19/13 05:14 PM

This sort of topic has been discussed hundreds of times before. You'll likely find a lot of information if you use the search function.

Any mechanical problems you have, are not tuning related.

Little problems after delivery are quite typical with new pianos.

You need to tell the technician PRIOR to their arrival that you have an issue or more, so that they can schedule additional time for whatever you encounter before their first visit. Write it all down before you call for the appointment and tell them at that time giving your best description.