Piano World Home Page
Posted By: wannasteinway Very Young kids - 06/23/06 07:05 AM
I am a new teacher and have a 5 year old student....hes natrually a littl hyper. He does though enjoy his lessons and sits in attention...but i have doubts hes learning what the notes are....like if i show him middle C note, he doesnt know what it looks like so he guesses....
I want to appeal to him by playing music games...i made a flash card game..where he matches the note with the letter...but i would like other games i could wirte out or print....i would apprecoate i you guys could give ideas or web sites that have fre printable games...

Thanks so much for your help
Posted By: Chris H. Re: Very Young kids - 06/23/06 04:14 PM
I don't know of any websites with free games but I can tell you that 5 year olds take quite a while to be able to identify notes on the stave. Also there is no way they will get it if they only look at them once a week in their lesson. You need to make sure their parents will sit with them every day and go through it carefully. Some 5 year olds are still not great with their alphabet and hardly any of them can say backward GFEDCBA, something which we do in music all the time. Some concepts which you take for granted like the fact that the notes on the stave move alphabetically from line-space-line will not be clear to a 5 year old right away. The danger is that we make too many assumptions about what they know. I teach the whole great stave right from the start rather than just certain notes. With some I will use the rhymes (All Cows Eat Grass etc.) and with younger ones I use colours based on the Tobin music system.
Posted By: tolovemoon Re: Very Young kids - 06/24/06 08:10 AM
I have been teaching my son using a common method sometimes seen with little toy guitars or toy musical instruments...
Numbers on the keys and on the sheet music..
The letter names can be used the same.

Creating my own sheets in photoshop, if you like I can send you a few..