Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Sviatoslav Ballet pianist - 02/18/10 08:59 AM
Just recently I've been asked to play in a classical ballet school. The goal is to play along with ballet students following the guidance of the teacher.

My background is mostly on classical music and that wouldn't hurt, but I'm almost totally unaware of what is usually required to a ballet pianist.
I can imagine something but I'm curious to understand what skills are required, what kind of music is usually played in that context, and so on.

Any idea?
Posted By: custard apple Re: Ballet pianist - 02/18/10 09:42 AM
I presume you are talking about classical ballet ? I danced ballet. You generally have really short pieces especially simple Mozart-sounding ones. You might become really annoyed: you have to do a lot of repeats and you might always be asked to stop.
What grade piano are you ?
Posted By: Canonie Re: Ballet pianist - 02/18/10 10:49 AM
How lovely smile I thought that most classes use recordings these days. From the little I've heard you need to keep an even tempo, be able to vary tempo when asked. The teacher may tap to give you a beat to begin with.

If no-one posts more specific information, I would prepare some Mozart sounding simple repetative pieces as custard said, in 3/4 and 2/4 and 4/4, e.g. waltz, polka, march, minuet. Include a few rippling/flowing sort of pieces as well. Learn pieces so well that you can play at any tempo without thinking. I've got a book of exercise music from the 1930's (I am looking at it now**) so there must be ballet music books available somewhere.

I play a lot for dance and for theatre but not on piano, and I love it. It's for performance rather than for classes. I hope someone who has played for ballet classes posts here. Let us know how it goes.

**the pieces are probably the worst compositions I've ever played, truly revolting. I hope you find some real music that will do the job.
Posted By: Phlebas Re: Ballet pianist - 02/18/10 12:01 PM