Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Aliwally Looking at hands while playing? - 01/28/10 01:15 PM
Why is it that it's bad to look at your hands playing an instrument if you already memorized the song?
For me, when I play piano I've always memorized sheet music line by line, but I look at my hands while playing. My instructor is ALWAYS yelling at me for it, but why is it bad if I've already memorized it all?

I have a problem I can usually memorize a piece very fast, after two or three plays of a phrase, line, or section it's with me forever. I can put a piece on the shelf for weeks and go back it play it from memory. I was a professional
drummer for years so I always had to memorize songs, mostly jazz heads. Also growing up I played in Drum & Bugle Corps so at a young age my mind was trained to memorize.

My teacher is freaked out about it because she can't memorize tunes like that. She can play them though way better than I can but she has to prepare a piece and will soon forget it after performed. I am the opposite, so even though I looking at the music I am not really reading it, it's like a guide.

So how can I break this Bad Habit of looking down and not following the chart. I think it would help me to look at the music for sight reading, checking notes but I just can't seem to follow the music onced it's memorized. Any suggestions please.

Also, I know that when someone looks at their hands it means they usually aren't very good and are just doing it on a whim, searching for the right keys and such. But I guess you could say I'm not actually LOOKING at my hands- I just can't play with my head up. but I don't actually look at the keys, or the sheet music. Technically I'm not looking at anything, it just comforts me to know my hands are still connected to the keys
Posted By: Copake Re: Looking at hands while playing? - 01/28/10 02:09 PM
Many concert pianists look at their hands when they play. The evidence is on YouTube.