Piano World Home Page

Recital Worries...

Posted By: TechnoTrance

Recital Worries... - 06/06/01 10:35 AM

Hey everyone,

It's my first time posting on the new forum, and I'm still getting used to it.

Just to give you some background, I've been playing the piano for a while (perhaps too long for a 16yr old!) and I'm performing a recital this coming Tuesday (12th June where I live). I know this is probably far to late to change anything in the recital, but I would like anyones opinion as to the suitability/compatibility of the pieces I've chosen ie if they "relate" to each other well. The recital is as follows :

1st - Mozart's Fantasia in D minor
2nd - Rachmaninoff's Prelude in C# minor
3rd - Schubert's "The Trout" quintet, 1st and 2nd movements only
4th - Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No.3 in D minor

Hopefully I won't be too worn out (cough cough!) after these things, and I am particularly worried as to how I am going to cope with the Rach 3 being last??? Should I change the order??

Any suggestions greatly appreciated!
Posted By: Mat D.

Re: Recital Worries... - 06/06/01 04:29 PM

Hi TechnoTrance,

Question, on the two non-solo pieces (Schubert & Rach 3), are you going to have a 2nd pianist or other accompaniment?

It sounds like you've got your hands full!!

What are the arrangements you are playing?

Mat D.
Posted By: magnezium

Re: Recital Worries... - 06/07/01 01:53 AM

just curious... where are you from?
Posted By: TechnoTrance

Re: Recital Worries... - 06/07/01 07:07 AM

I'm from New Zealand, that little country by Australia wink
Posted By: Daniel

Re: Recital Worries... - 06/07/01 08:08 AM

Hey, I'll probably be going to New Zealand within the next year or so (or atleast I hope so!). I've got some family down there somewhere smile It should be a great place for a biology student laugh

Daniel
Posted By: yok

Re: Recital Worries... - 06/07/01 10:42 AM

Greetings from Christchurch.

What part of this little country by Australia are you in ?