Piano World Home Page
Posted By: vinzeslife Schubert's Piano Sonata D845 in A - 12/02/07 06:41 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm Vincent and I'm new here. I need some help on this song that I'm working on. It's Schubert's Sonata D845 in A. I find the piece, quite simple technically but then the mood is not easy. I don't really understand what Schubert is trying to say in this piece of his. When I played it, yes with the expression and all but still... something is missing. I just started playing about a day ago and made it to the end of the first part of the song.

Anyone played it before? Can share with me why Schubert wrote this song and what is he trying to say?

I'm learning this piece on my own. Didn't have a teacher. I'm only at my Grade 6 now, but had stopped for 1 year Starting picking up again a few weeks ago.

Thanks in advance.

Regards,
Vinz
Posted By: pianist.ame Re: Schubert's Piano Sonata D845 in A - 12/02/07 10:04 PM
you're at grade 6 and you want to start learning this piece?
the reason why you don't understand this sonata is because it's too mature and deep.

you need to learn one of his earlier sonatas 1st, in fact it's very important to learn a few sonatas by each Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn 1st.
Posted By: tomasino Re: Schubert's Piano Sonata D845 in A - 12/02/07 11:32 PM
Vincent, even the most gifted and experienced musicians would put more than a day into it before asking the questions you're asking.

Quoting AMELIALW

"you need to learn one of his earlier sonatas 1st, in fact it's very important to learn a few sonatas by each Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn 1st."

I'm curious amelialw, why do you feel it is necessary to learn a Mozart, a Beethoven, and a Haydn sonata before a Schubert sonata?

Why not Schubert first, then a Mozart, a Beethoven, and a Haydn?

Tomasino
Posted By: pianist.ame Re: Schubert's Piano Sonata D845 in A - 12/03/07 01:33 AM