Piano World Home Page
Fourth of July fireworks have already started in my US town. Music crosses all borders and boundaries, but I'm curious which American composers and keyboard works have made a positive impact on you all. I am personally a fan of the contemporary composer Steve Reich (his Piano Phase has got me under a spell). I'm also a casual student of music history, and the earliest keyboard works I can find published in the US are Alexander Reinagle's "Philadelphia Sonatas", 1 of which I will link to below. My favorite all round US composer is Copland (Billy the Kid). Feel free to include jazz and ragtime in your answers, and Latin American composers too,though I'm mostly focused on classical music here in the US.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImEhQvsukJM
Ives Concord Sonata
Barber's Piano Concerto and piano sonata are among my favorite 20th century works.

I'm surprised that so few American pianists play them.
Lowell Liebermann is one of my favorite living composers. A lot of people know him for writing Gargoyles, but he has written so much more than that.
Scott Joplin's ragtime pieces. Spent a happy summer many years ago learning a number of them - Maple Leaf Rag, Gladiolous Rag, Pine Apple Rag, The Entertainer, Magnetic Rag, and Bethena, A Concert Waltz. Such fun to play and fits so well under the fingers too.
Originally Posted by iamandrew3