Piano World Home Page
Posted By: boogiewoogie123 Scales and Arpeggios - 10/28/15 01:06 AM
I am mostly self taught, but I get occasional lessons so I don't have all the knowledge you guys have about technique and how to practice it so:

I was just wondering what you guys think the most efficient way to practice scales and arpeggios is if you have an hour a day to practice.
How do you split your time up between Scales, Arpeggios and pieces?
Do you practice all the scales and arpeggios every day or just a couple every day?
How exactly do you guys learn your scales and arpeggios and practice them (how easy should they be for you?, how do you speed up?)

Thank you guys in advance for your suggestions
Posted By: Orange Soda King Re: Scales and Arpeggios - 10/28/15 01:51 AM
Scales: Don't overload yourself, but over time, learn and solidy the fingerings of every major and minor (natural, harmonic, and melodic) scale, and do them with a metronome four octaves up and down the piano. Start slowly, and make sure you're doing them smoothly and evenly before speeding up. Also, don't think of them as bunches of individual notes, or some tedious technical exercise. Think of them as sweeping musical gestures going up and then down. With a bit of imagination and seeing progress, practicing scales can be quite fun. Also, try learning B Major, F# Major, and C# major first... Easiest to physically play.

With arpeggios, you might try this comprehensive exercise. It encompasses every triad and seventh chord that contains your starting note. Let's pick C:

-C major arpeggio up and down for octaves.
-C-Eb-Ab (A-flat major, first inversion) up and down four octaves.
-C-F-A (F major, 2nd inv) up and down 4 octaves.
-Then do C minor, A minor, F minor triads
-C diminished, A diminished, F# diministed traids
-C augmented triad (Ab and E augmented are the exact same)
-Major minor 7th chords: C7, Ab7, F7, D7
-Minor minor 7th chords: Cm7, Am7, Fm7, Dm7
-Major major 7th chords: CM7, AbM7, FM7, DbM7