Piano World Home Page
Posted By: RachManiac Concert pianist finances? - 03/09/12 05:14 PM
I have a deep passion for the piano, and I think I'd be happy to dedicate my life to it, and become a concert pianist (I'm 15), but my parents say there is no way they will pay my way through music school. They are fine with music as a hobby, but not as a profession. My father wants me to be a neurosurgeon like him, and refuses to listen to me, when I tell him that I prefer music over medicine. He fears that I won't make nearly as much money as a concert pianist. I know this might be a bit personal, but for all of you professional pianists, how much do you make annually? I want to prove him wrong. Even if a pianist doesn't make quite as much as a doctor, I want to prove that a pianist can at least financially support themselves (which he does not believe to be so).
Posted By: daviel Re: Concert pianist finances? - 03/09/12 05:30 PM
You are young and only a few years from graduating from high school. You will grow up fast in those years. You need to. There are a lot of ways to get through college without your parents paying for it. How do you think most people get through school? Start planning now. If you do not follow your own instinct (gut feeling) and just let your dad direct your life you will not like the result. Good luck with it and keep us posted.
Posted By: slava_richter Re: Concert pianist finances? - 03/09/12 05:49 PM
Well, this is exactly what happened with Berlioz: went to study medicine against his wishes, and the rest is history.

Also, Schumann gave up being a lawyer to become a musician. Obviously only a few people in a million will have the kind of success (and gift) that they had, but you shouldn't pursue a vocation you hate just to be pragmatic either.