Piano World Home Page
Hey all,

I'm a software engineer in New York and an amateur pianist on the side. I made an app to track your practice and I'd like you to try it out. It's like an online practice journal.

Compound Time
http://compoundtime.com

To get started, just add works to repertoire, click "Start practice" when you start practicing, and "Stop practice" when you stop practicing. I have lots of ideas for other features like setting goals and making challenges with your friends, but the basic idea is there.

I'd really appreciate your feedback!

Thanks, Michael
Please tell me why I need an app - and why, consequently, I have to have my computer on (is it still an app if it's for a computer rather than an iPod, iPad or iPhone?) while I am practicing. If I want to know - and I can't think why I would - how much accumulated time I have spent on a given work, can I not just look at the clock/watch?

Regards,
Hey Bruce,

I don't think the app is for everyone. I'm trying to build an online practice journal that helps some people learn from their practice and connect about repertoire.

Thanks for checking it out,

Michael
Quite agree BruceD ... “practising” is not a chore but a passion ... where time fails to be of consequence (except on a hard bench).

Haddad (only 3 posts) is obviously a new-boy ... and unlikely to be versed in the joy of the keyboard .

My cell-phone tells me the time ... if I really want to know .
Lol, it can certainly feel like a chore when you are doing it 7 hours a day in order to meet deadlines. I think this is a brilliant idea. No need to pooh-pooh it just because its unnecessary; I'm sure we'd all cope somehow without mobile phones all together if we had to.
I appreciate the different perspectives. I hope that tracking the amount of time you spend on practice will be just one aspect of the application moving forward. Please let me know if you have any suggestions for making it more useful.
After you’ve done