Piano World Home Page
Posted By: noamb Keeping repertoire fresh in memory - 04/11/21 05:45 PM
I'm really frustrated.

I've played piano for 40 years. I've learned hundreds of songs in many genres. I want to be able to sit down and play my repertoire by memory, anywhere, any time.

But my memory fails me.

Memorization is not the problem. I've memorized dozens of songs.

The problem is maintaining memory. I am shocked at how quickly I'll forget bits of a song that, just two weeks ago, I had finally worked up to performance level.

And, of course, when you're performing, forgetting even one bit of a song can take a performance from a 10 to a 6 in the blink of an eye.

I've tried "maintenance practice," in which I cycle through recent repertoire every couple weeks to keep it fresh in my mind. But time is always the limitation: If I had more time to practice, then sure I could keep everything fresh; but I don't have that much time. I'm not a professional. I have a job and a family. Piano is not my life, it's just an important part of it. Some weeks I don't touch the keyboard. Some days I only have time to do that one current piece once through.

I've tried choosing a small set of pieces to keep fresh... but they grow stale. They get boring. I become sick of them. "That one... again? I have nothing new to do with that one. If I practice it more, I'll just risk developing bad habits." My wife and neighbors must be sick of these pieces!

Besides, letting a piece rest for a few months can help me bring a fresh interpretation to it.

It feels like, having played for this many years, I should have a more intimate, embodied relationship to my repertoire, but I don't.

Do you have suggestions?
Posted By: gwing Re: Keeping repertoire fresh in memory - 04/11/21 06:15 PM