Piano World Home Page
Posted By: Whiggs Pianos - what do you get when you pay more? - 11/14/19 05:22 AM
Hi everyone,

I’m a complete noob here, so I apologize upfront for the stupid question...
Looking at the brochures for the upright pianos from different vendors, it isn’t quite evident to me what improvements do you get when you buy a more expensive acoustic piano.

With digital pianos it’s quite clear: usually there’s a very distinct improvement in features, such as action type, sensing subsystem, rendering engine parameters (realism, sample bank size, polyphony etc), audio reproduction system, and of course cabinet “sophistication”. There are also auxiliary features such as connectivity which are sometimes improved as you step up the line.
So if you compare, e.g. Roalnd LX705 to LX708, it’s quite clear what you’re getting for your extra dollars.

But with acoustic pianos it is not clear to me, perhaps due to lack of background with acoustic pianos (I’ve only played electronic keyboards when I was younger).

Can somebody please help me understand what makes piano A better than piano B?
Obviously the sound will be different, and sometimes the action would feel different, but reading through this forum it seems that “different” is not always “better”, and people are encouraged to try the instrument before they buy it.
Still, Yamaha charges way more for the YUS5 than for, e.g., the U1. And it’s not clear to me why.

Specifically, are more expensive instruments better in terms of longevity, and cadence/type of maintenance?

Appreciate any thoughts.
You should better compare U1 to YUS1. YUS5 is a 52" upright.

This is how it is advertised on the Yamaha YUS pianos web page to justify the price difference.