Piano World Home Page

So where are the big grands coming from?

Posted By: iLaw

So where are the big grands coming from? - 04/11/19 04:37 PM

Those of you who have known me for a while know that when I'm not playing piano I'm an attorney practicing customs law and international trade regulation. Today I had to update my account that gets me access to import trade data from the government, and I needed to make sure it was working, so as my donation to the forum (as I have done in the past) I will answer the question on everyone's mind:

How many pianos longer than 195.58 cm (6' 5") have been imported into the U.S. so far this year, and what countries did they come from? Here you go ...

Japan 15
Austria 11
China 10
Italy 9
Estonia 5
Germany 5
Poland 4
Indonesia 2

Sorting by value would, of course, shuffle these rankings. Only four months of data, so the results depend heavily on who shipped what when. I should have gone back and done a 2018 complete year, but that'll have to wait for another time. Gotta get back to work.

Inquiring minds want to know.

Larry.
Posted By: pianoloverus

Re: So where are the big grands coming from? - 04/11/19 04:53 PM

That seems unbelievable small to me. Between Yamaha and Kawai only 15 grands larger than 6'5" were imported to the U.S. so far? If that rate continued that's only about 240 pianos that size per year. I would have guessed that Yamaha alone would have imported 500-1000 per year, not that I have anything to base that number on.

Can any dealers verify that these figures seem reasonable?
Posted By: JohnSprung

Re: So where are the big grands coming from? - 04/11/19 05:08 PM

Originally Posted by pianoloverus
That seems unbelievable small to me. Between Yamaha and Kawai only 15 grands larger than 6'5" were imported to the U.S. so far?