2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (AlkansBookcase, Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,657 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
What to play at this events, for 3, 4 hours at lunch or diners?

Solo piano.

Is there any experienced pianist on this topic?

Im a classical trained pianist. On master studies.

J
Gold Level
6000 Post Club Member
Gold Level
6000 Post Club Member
J
I don't play classical, I play stuff from the turn of the last century thru about 1946. I don't play 3 or 4 hours gigs - an hour usually. But I figure 18 - 20 of those tunes an hour. Memorized. And I'm background, not center stage, so even tho one could dance to many of my tunes I try not to make them intrusively so - people aren't going to get up and dance at most restaurants, and they often want to talk to each other while the music's going on.

The "weddings" thread at the top of this forum has some good discussion of playing these kinds of gigs. Robin Goldsby is a professional pianist that plays exactly the gigs you're asking about.

You could search for Red Head's threads (there's a search button in the upper right of your screen) - she plays in a department store - a similar kind of experience.

And there's several jazz pianists who post here who will have other perspectives on tunes, numbers of tunes, length of sets, what's appropriate for what venues, etc.

But, as far as I can tell, it takes a lot of tunes laugh

Cathy

Cathy
[Linked Image][Linked Image]