2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
M
OP Offline
M
Hello. I have been playing piano for about 5 months now. I have The Piano Handbook by Carl Humphries. I was wondering if someone could tell me about how long it should take to go through the book? I am about half way through. I just wanted to know if I am going to fast or slow? Also on the Hanon excersises I have been trying to learn a new one every other day or so and mastering if before going to the next, and always running through the others I have learned first. Is that right or should I try to sight read them? I also practice scales, I know all the major, and working on the rest. I have only had the Hanon book about a month, but it has seemed to helped. If anyone has any suggestions I would welcome them.

Thank you

1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
i do not think piano is about how fast you go through a book or lesson book or what have you. as long as you are learning at a comfortable pace, then you are doing just fine. as far as hanon, most people do one hanon a week and do different excercises with it, ie slow fast stacatto legato etc. etc. then move on. i dont have any suggestions except to say if you are comfortable at your pace then you are doing fine.

If it ain't fun I ain't doin' it:)
L
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
L
here are some pointers with hanon:
-Dont go on to any more hanon untill you have mastered each one evenly at 155 or more.