2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
50 members (Bruce Sato, APianistHasNoName, BillS728, bcalvanese, anotherscott, AlkansBookcase, Carey, CharlesXX, 10 invisible), 1,784 guests, and 302 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
OP Offline
J
Hello!

I would like to introduce myself.

I am brand new to playing piano and started on January 3rd this year, so basically just now. I am returning to playing Piano after many years as I did ~4 years as a kid and I think I had passed a conservatory exam or two at the time. I can still read music pretty well, albeit slowly and I learned the Do-Re-Mi... way and now that I am in an "english" environment, I guess all methods are using CDEFGAB. So, I'll see how that goes. Right now, CDE just really doesn't tell me anything. Ultimately, I guess I will have to be comfortable with both methods.

My intent is to document my progress and practice sessions, post questions to help future new members and hopefully motivate others. I will document what I am working on as I progress and any challenges I am facing.

I have started practicing on the Alfred's Method, but I am also using the Piano Handbook by Carl Humphries because of the quality of the pieces in that book and because I love Jazz! My first class with a teacher is this coming Saturday!! Yay - Wish me luck. I have a plan and a list of things to ask him. (Thanks Becca) I will be seeing him every weeks for 30 Minutes, so no room for slacking off!