2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
49 members (Cheeeeee, Carey, Dalem01, danno858, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 8 invisible), 2,059 guests, and 320 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
Another newbie here. I've been playing an old Baldwin spinet since my Dad bought it for me (age 14) forty years ago. I kept it for sentimental reasons (my Dad died young) but after one too many moves, it's not playable and I've decided I really need an upgrade anyway. I'm not a daily player and only play for my own enjoyment. I've read The Piano Book and lurked here for awhile. I've decided that a new Charles Walter vertical might work for me and fits my price range though I've never played one. I've finally found a dealer in my state (Texas) 6 hours away and I'm making a trek to play/look at one.
First off, should I really look at something else? (I'm less interested in "brightness"). Assuming I like the sound, is there anything else I should look for when I'm at the piano? I've read they come in really good shape from the manufacturer and don't need much prep. Since the dealer is primarily a Steinway dealer, is there anything else I should play while I'm there to compare? Is there anything I should watch out for? I'm not sure I have a good negotiation strategy when I'm at the only dealer in the state. Any suggestions?
Thanks for any suggestions.

7000 Post Club Member
7000 Post Club Member