2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
21 members (cmoody31, dh371, Fried Chicken, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, admodios, clothearednincompo, crab89, 5 invisible), 1,234 guests, and 304 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
F
frogdog Offline OP
OP Offline
F
Hi there from Calgary: This is my first post here. I'd like to get some feedback from those-that-know-more-than-me.

I have 2 questions, but by way of background, I'm recently retired from work and going to buy my first and last piano. As a kid I studied classical for about 10 years and have coasted on that for the ensuing 30 years. I learned to play on my mother's Chickering 5'2" small grand in the deep and muggy south and that piano was shipped to me here in Calgary some 15 years ago. That piano has not enjoyed the dry weather here and is in rough shape. It had some damage from the move and more damage over the years. Years gone by were lean years and I couldn't afford to do what needed doing. Now I can afford a new piano, and I'd rather buy a new one than try to save the old one. Having played on lots of pianos, I'd like finally to buy my own. My own bias is toward a Yamaha or a Kawai.

Question 1: My budget is between 10 and 15K, and I'd like to buy the biggest and best (sounding) grand piano I can for that money, and I'd like to buy used, hoping to get more piano for the money than if I buy new. So what are some suggestions for that budget?