Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 2.5 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!


SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Modern Piano Moving
Modern Piano Moving
(ad)
Virtual Sheet Music
Download Sheet Music Instantly
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Sheet Music...
(125ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Piano Buyer Guide
Piano Buyer Spring 2017
(ad)
Lindeblad Piano
Lindeblad Piano Restorations and sales
Who's Online Now
106 registered members (AlanB, Antoin, amad23, ando, Adypiano, Azer, 24 invisible), 1,734 guests, and 6 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Quick Links to Useful Piano & Music Resources
Our Classified Ads
Find Piano Professionals-

*Piano Dealers - Piano Stores
*Piano Tuners
*Piano Teachers
*Piano Movers
*Piano Restorations
*Piano Manufacturers

Quick Links:
*Advertise On Piano World
*Free Piano Newsletter
*Online Piano Recitals
*Piano Recitals Index
*Piano & Music Accessories
*Live Piano Venues
*Music School Listings
* Buying a Piano
*Buying A Acoustic Piano
*Buying a Digital Piano
*Pianos for Sale
*Sell Your Piano
*How Old is My Piano?
*Directory/Site Map
*Virtual Piano
*Music Word Search
*Piano Videos
*Virtual Piano Chords & Scales
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
#985551 - 10/10/08 11:08 AM Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
So, I just installed Leopard on the Macs at home .....

I recorded Piano*Son playing an etude for the Chopin recital on the trusty Zoom H4 and then go to the computer to download it. The computer rejects the device. Say what?

I do a little web research and discover that the existing Zoom software is not compatible with Leopard. I discover also that there is some download that you need in order to reformat the Zoom. The problem is that the instructions are incomprehensible, or actually make no sense.

Here is the information: From the Zoom support website

How on earth does one copy the system.bin file into the root directory of the SD card using a USB cable. The bloody SD card doesn't have a USB connection. It's a silly removable chip inside the bloody Zoom.

Has anyone else dealt with this?

P.S. I hadn't yet switched to Leopard on my office Mac, so that's where I could do the download! Ah, progress.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
#985552 - 10/10/08 11:31 AM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
AnthonyB Offline
500 Post Club Member
AnthonyB  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
Center City, MN
You may either need to find an adapter to plug in the card to the computer via usb or maybe use a friend's computer to do the upload. I can't be sure if plugging in the device to a computer where it would work will allow access to the sd card like a drive on the computer where you could then do the copying. Maybe you could find a local computer shop that could help you put the file on there without charge.

I'm sure if I lived in Williamsburg, VA I'd be there to help you in a flash. (Oh, terrible flash memory card joke there.)


Roland FP-7 / Pianoteq 4.5.1
[Linked Image]
#985553 - 10/10/08 11:59 AM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,674
gmm1 Offline
1000 Post Club Member
gmm1  Offline
1000 Post Club Member

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,674
Spokane WA
Depending on how old your computer is, you might have a slot built in to your computer that will accept the SD card.

If not, then you might need to purchase an SD card reader (really cheap, under 20 bucks), or, do you have a digital camera, or a printer that has a slot for SD cards? They will also work.

On second thought, it's a little complicated to use a camera or printer as a diskdrive. Maybe not, eh???

Anyway, if you do not have a card reader, the cable will do you no good, as the Zoom will not allow it (hence the need to get the download on the card from another source).

Another thought. Perhaps a neighbor or friend could load up the card for you, and save you the trip to Radio Shack.

Good luck. Like Anthony, I would pop over in a second if I were close...


Parting thought - do you or Piano*Son have a laptop close? Unless very old, they will have a slot for the card as well.....


"There is nothing remarkable about it. All one has to do is hit the right keys at the right time and the instrument plays itself." Johann Sebastian Bach/Gyro
#985554 - 10/10/08 12:03 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 658
epf Offline
500 Post Club Member
epf  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 658
Central Texas
Okay, I did this some time ago. Here's the instructions rewritten a little:

1) Download the software to your computer.
2) Unzip the downloaded software.
3) Copy the "system.bin" file into the root directory of the SD card which has been inserted into an SD slot on your computer.
4) Insert the SD card into the Zoom H4 and follow the rest of the steps as outlined on the Zoom web site.

The key is to forget about the USB stuff -- that's misleading.

Ed


"...a man ... should engage himself with the causes of the harmonious combination of sounds, and with the composition of music." Anatolius of Alexandria
[Linked Image]
YouTube Channel
(ad ) MusicNotes.com
sheet music search
#985555 - 10/10/08 12:18 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
Hmmm. I don't know that I HAVE an SD slot on the computer. I'll have to check. I certainly don't see one on my older Mac.

Now that I think about it, I don't think any mac comes with an SD slot. Are there simple adapters that plug into a USB port?

I'll check my laptop at home. Since it is a Mac as well, it may not have the slot.

#985556 - 10/10/08 12:21 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
AnthonyB Offline
500 Post Club Member
AnthonyB  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
Center City, MN
Piano*Dad: Also, do you have a digital camera? If so, what type of card does it use? If it uses an SD card you may be able to place that card in the camera then hook up the camera to the computer and transfer the file onto the card that way.


Roland FP-7 / Pianoteq 4.5.1
[Linked Image]
#985557 - 10/10/08 12:31 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
Except that now I'm worried that the camera won't be recognized as well. :p

I'll look into the camera angle to see exactly what sort of card it uses. It's kind of funny. If you're not really INTO the technology you tend to forget the details (like what card is in the machine) as long as things continue to work.

#985558 - 10/10/08 12:37 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 198
Mistaya Offline
Full Member
Mistaya  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 198
Alberta
Piano*Dad,
I thought that the Zoom could be used as a card reader as well (pg.82 of the manual) - I remember upgrading the zoom firmware this way. Does Leopard not recognize the zoom at all as an external drive? I was thinking of upgrading to Leopard - but maybe not...

#985559 - 10/10/08 12:41 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
No, Leopard generates an error message when you connect the Zoom to the computer. You never get it to recognize the zoom as a device.

Now where's that bloody Zoom manual. I seem to lose everything these days. laugh

#985560 - 10/10/08 12:55 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 198
Mistaya Offline
Full Member
Mistaya  Offline
Full Member

Joined: Sep 2006
Posts: 198
Alberta
Well, darn - macs are usually much more clever than that. Good luck.

#985561 - 10/10/08 04:33 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,462
DragonPianoPlayer Offline
2000 Post Club Member
DragonPianoPlayer  Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,462
Denver, CO
I would not use a camera to act as a flash drive reader. The camera will most likely want to format the sd card and you will lose the information you have saved on it.

Yes there are very reasonable memory card readers, check any store that sells digital cameras and memory. Even WallMart will have this. Basic ones that only read a few types of memory are under $20. More advanced ones that read almost every type of memory under the sun may be $35 or so.

Rich


[Linked Image] [Linked Image]
#985562 - 10/10/08 07:47 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 588
Late Beginner Offline
500 Post Club Member
Late Beginner  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 588
West Australia
Hi Piano*Dad,

I recently did this for another Zoom product - an MRS8 recorder/mixer. The machine has no direct USB connection so I used an inexpensive and simple USB card reader (as gmm1 suggested). The job was easy - put the memory card in the reader slot, plug reader into computer usb, copy file across, put card back in and press the required combination of buttons on the Zoom to start the internal update. Worked first time.

I also have an H4 and a Mac with Leopard on, so I'll try it, and see if I can get it to recognise it directly through the H4s own USB cable, rather than using a separate card reader. I currently only use mine as an audio interface, not a USB reader, so I'll have to dig out the manual and work out how to reset it via the menu on the H4 first. Did you set your Zoom H4 up its own menu to read the card directly? It presumably won't work if you didn't. Page 82 in my manual. Zoom usually have them downloadable online if you've lost yours.

If it doesn't work then I would try it on another computer. It shouldn't matter what computer you use to do the update on - a neighbour's machine running Windows for instance. Once it's updated the Mac should see it again.

Cheers,

Chris

UPDATE:

I just tried plugging it into a Windows machine, and it was able to to see the contents of the card with no problems at all, as soon as I set the Zoom itself to 'Connect to PC' (PC refers to any personal computer. Mac or Windows) .

As far as I can tell, you have two ways to go. If the problem is that Leopard can't access the memory on your Zoom at all until the update has been done then you either have to :

1) Take the memory card out of the H4 and use a card reader to transfer the file or
2) Use any other computer not running Leopard (Mac or Windows PC).

There are update instruction on P.85 in the manual too.

Good luck... smile


Who needs feet of clay? I can get into enough trouble with feet made of regular foot stuff...
#985563 - 10/10/08 09:40 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
Thanks,

I think I know what to do now. I really do need to get a reader to handle the card via the USB.

It just seems that the more things change in computers, and supposedly toward a more friendly interface, the truth remains more complex. You still have to be a problem solving ferret.

#985564 - 10/10/08 10:51 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 6,165
currawong Offline
6000 Post Club Member
currawong  Offline
6000 Post Club Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 6,165
Down Under
This thread might help. Good luck smile


Du holde Kunst...
#985565 - 10/11/08 08:51 AM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
Thanks. I never thought to use the search function. Silly me. And the topic was discussed so recently.

#985566 - 10/11/08 02:56 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Piano*Dad Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Piano*Dad  Offline
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 10,817
Williamsburg, VA
Well, that was easy. I just went downstairs to the laptop, which I had strategically (yeah, right) not yet updated to Leopard. No need for a separate SD reader. I just plugged the Zoom into the Mac and transferred the downloaded software into the Zoom's root directory and followed the instructions on Zoom's web page. All done.

Well, I haven't yet tried it on a Leopard machine, so perhaps I shouldn't talk so confidently. But the Zoom says the new version of its brain is functioning properly.

#985567 - 10/11/08 04:42 PM Re: Zoom H4 Question  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
AnthonyB Offline
500 Post Club Member
AnthonyB  Offline
500 Post Club Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 661
Center City, MN
Maybe it would have helped to mention that slight fact about having another computer around... smile

I hope it works without further issues on your newer computer.


Roland FP-7 / Pianoteq 4.5.1
[Linked Image]

Moderated by  BB Player, casinitaly 

Piano Acc. & Gift Items in
Piano World's Online Store
In PianoSupplies.com ,(a division of Piano World) our online store for piano and music gifts and accessories, party goods, tuning equipment, piano moving equipment, benches, lamps Caster Cups and more.


Free Shipping on Jansen Artist Piano Benches
(ad)
Pearl River
Pearl River Pianos
ad
Pierce Piano Atlas


(ad)
Pianoteq
Grotrian Concert
Royal
for Pianoteq out now
What's Hot!!
Why Do You Play The Piano?
-------------------
Posting Pictures on the Forums
-------------------
Forums RULES & HELP
-------------------
ADVERTISE on Piano World
-------------------
Piano Classified Ads
New Topics - Multiple Forums
refinish bridge
by grand idea. 06/28/17 06:43 AM
Are there any Steingraeber & Sohne pianos in Australia?
by PerfectPianoSearch. 06/28/17 03:22 AM
Kawai or Yamaha for classical music?
by James Guo. 06/27/17 10:47 PM
I hope I'm still playing...
by Retsacnal. 06/27/17 10:02 PM
Playing Some (Not All) Movements of a Piece?
by ClsscLib. 06/27/17 08:13 PM
(ad)
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus Featured Sale
(ad)
Accu-Tuner
Sanderson Accu-Tuner
Forum Statistics
Forums44
Topics180,496
Posts2,639,715
Members88,206
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Check It Out!
There's a lot more to Piano World than just the forums.
Check It Out!
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers


 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter |


copyright 1997 - 2017 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0