2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
29 members (crab89, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, Fried Chicken, CraiginNZ, bwv543, Cominut, 9 invisible), 1,250 guests, and 280 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Beginner or no beginner, if you are taking piano lessons and you want the teacher to help you on a certain piece, the piece needs to be approved by the teacher. If you want to work on it on your own, that's fine but don't mention it to your teacher. wink

If you are self taught like me, play what you like and you don't have to play what you don't like. laugh

For people that are leaning toward classical music, if you spend the time to learn the simplified (50% or more notes are left out) version of a piece, then you hear someone else plays the original piece which sound nothing like what you play, would you still be happy with the simplified version?

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Melissa, you are absolutely correct in your thinking.

While many members have frowned upon playing an arrangement that is compatible for ones curent abilities...(makes NO sense!),, what makes even LESS sense to me is trying to play an original score when it is not within your abilities thereby getting frustrated and ultimitely giving up altogether.

Any good teacher will tell you that positive reinforcement is crucial to the success and longevity of any activity.