2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (brdwyguy, Carey, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, CharlesXX, 11 invisible), 1,901 guests, and 295 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member

Bravo! There is really only one way to play Chopin I was taught, and that's with complete melodic fluidity over a rhythmically solid accompaniment.. and you did a wonderful job. The left hand chords were transparent yet light, the melody was full of warmth and passionate..a challenge for me the day I started learning this piece, and that was 2 years ago. And I like the tempo to your performance, some other recordings are much too fast and the semiquaver beats to the crotchets were too jumpy and all.
One question (I hope to improve my knowledge and playing on this pc), on the last semiquaver beat in measure 16, almost all performers play it as G an octave apart. I had mine (the henle edition) written out as B natural. Is it ok if I play it as G? I really think it sounds more intense as the melody comes on again right after.

One more question, I noticed you played the embellishments before the main beats for eg in measure 15..I'm wondering if Chopin had intended it to be played that way or otherwise?

Thanks again for sharing with us your wonderful playing!

"No time".. Saddest words ever spoken or written.

Nope..I'm gonna live each day to the fullest smile
2000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
2000 Post Club Member
Originally posted by metronome: