2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 6 of 10 1 2 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Originally posted by keystring:
Cindy, to paraphrase, you are saying that a teacher ought to know if her goals are to prepare a student up to a certain playing proficiency and to have a certain amount of knowledge of music and theory. I am a student. I would not want you to decide these goals on my behalf. I would like you to ask me.
Don't get me wrong - I do believe strongly in knowing, when teaching adults or even teens, what they want out of lessons. I have particular goals, the primary of which is to optimize the likelihood that my students will have a relationship with the piano that will last their lifetime. It has nothing to do with their musical preferences, since I've already said that we teach music in several genres and skill sets, and it has nothing to do with the position that piano music will have in their future - I just want to make sure that there IS a future.

... If you teach me I should be able to play any piece or genre that I want.

Personally, as an adult student, I would love to be able to play well enough to go on to performance college, or at least to play very well. I would like to have sufficient technique and musical understanding that I can play well. And I happen to love classical music before other kinds. I am open to other kinds and hope to grow through them, but classical is the most in my nature.