2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
63 members (Animisha, Barly, bobrunyan, brennbaer, 1200s, 36251, benkeys, 20/20 Vision, anotherscott, 8 invisible), 1,796 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#957550 09/29/07 03:47 PM
C
Cultor Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Isn’t “Melody” (not counterpoint) a missing although fundamental subject in classical music education? I find there’s so much to say about melody as it is for harmony –may be more- but when I studied I went on three years of harmony but not a single one of melody which is surprising. Any ideas?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Szabolcsi's 'A History of Melody' is good. There are plenty of texts on how to write a melody but as 20th century was pretty much atonal there isn't a lot of interest.

9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
Atonal music can still have melody (depends on how you define it, anyway). If it is defined as a line someone could sing, well, any singer's part in any atonal vocal work is melody, right? (countermelodies are still melodies) A melody doesn't necessarily have to move to a certain tonic note -- so modal melodies work, too.

That being said, there might be a lack of "melody" in many atonal works -- but it's not because the music is atonal.

Sam
9000 Post Club Member
9000 Post Club Member
Have a look at some of the Bach chorales. They are the meat and potatoes of music theory classes; wonderful music; but the melodies are awful.

[Linked Image]