2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (Animisha, brennbaer, Cominut, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, busa, drumour, clothearednincompo, APianistHasNoName, 4 invisible), 1,184 guests, and 271 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
M
mbrown Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I am a piano teacher with almost 15 years teaching experience and I've recently agreed to take on a 7 year old child with autism and language delay; my first special needs piano student. I am having a difficult time finding suggestions/materials/advice on how to structure the lessons for a child with these challenges.

I had my first lesson with her last week and it was much more difficult than I had anticipated. I did research online beforehand and had read that starting special needs children with pre-school age piano lesson materials is a good idea, such as the Alfred's Piano Party lesson series for very young children. Also, I tried to think of very basic exercises to start her with, such as showing her a picture of a frog and of a bird and associating the low sounds of the keyboard with the frog and the high sounds with the bird. I then tried to ask her to play all the groups of twos on the keyboard, etc. Everything though seemed too overwhelming and confusing for her. Her greatest difficulty was focusing and concentrating and she would get frustrated very easily, and none of my simple exercises seemed to communicate well with her or interest her.