2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
55 members (beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Carey, CharlesXX, Aleks_MG, accordeur, brdwyguy, 10 invisible), 1,978 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#944879 02/10/04 10:01 PM
D
DR LO Offline OP
OP Offline
D
I'm currently a sophomore in highschool and have been playing piano for 10 years. Currently I'm working on the Batttle Hymn of the Republic to accompny the High School concert choir, and i'm learning a popular rondo by Beethoven and a popular sonata by Mozart. I'm telling you this so you can get a feel for my ability. I would like to earn a little extra cash to help pay for gas and what not, and would like to maybe start teaching piano lessons. What is your input on this matter? Am I too young, should i study the piano more? Please any help would be great.

--DR LO

C
4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
C
Being able to play the piano well is no indication of how good a teacher you can be. Being a teacher requires a different set of skills, and a good deal of experience.

There have been great pianists who have not been very good teachers, and great teachers who have not been great performers. (And many combinations)

Also, those pieces you name do not help. There are many popular Mozart sonatas, and more than one Beethoven rondo. A recording of you playing or more information would be more helpful!

laugh

W
W