2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
23 members (HZPiano, admodios, johnesp, clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., Joseph Fleetwood, 7 invisible), 1,274 guests, and 297 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#941562 05/29/07 01:52 PM
OP Offline
Hi all, thanks for all the great topics here! I've really gained some insight. I'm a new teacher, and I only have one student so far. But I'm having a problem with him, wondering if anyone here can relate to this....

He is 11 yrs. old and started taking piano lessons from me about 4 months ago. He took lessons previously from a friend of mine, but her piano skills are limited and she can only "go so far" with her students. Unfortunately, this other teacher was not structured or disciplined in her approach, and this student of mine now thinks that I am mean because I actually try to make him play things correctly! His progress has been very slow becuase he doesn't practice enough (sometimes not at all), and he has trouble sightreading. But I'm using some note drills to try to help him with his sightreading. At his lesson yesterday, I tried to show him how he should be practicing, that he needs to play each line or measure SLOWLY at first and play them repeatedly until he gets it right. I could tell that he thinks I'm trying to torture him! He thinks that he should only have to play something once, and that's enough.