2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
Who's Online Now
56 members (Cleverson, BozzyBear, Beowulf, anotherscott, Badger1966, Beemer, clothearednincompo, 1957, 13 invisible), 403 guests, and 434 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Can I deduct an expensive piano from my taxes?
#939390 01/27/07 11:28 PM
P
OP Offline
P
I am a full-time piano teacher and I am considering purchasing a grand piano in the neighborhood of $15,000. Am I allowed to deduct the cost of that piano over the next 3-4 years? That would probably cover 100% of my taxes for 3 years in a row, so I am unsure if this is even allowed.

(ad)
Piano & Music Accessories
piano accessories music gifts tuning and moving equipment
Re: Can I deduct an expensive piano from my taxes?
#939391 01/28/07 12:07 AM
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Of course, it's a business expense along with any music you buy, any equipment you use in your studio, travel to conferences, etc...

I don't think you can spread it out over several years, though. Get a decent tax person who understands the teaching business. Ask other teachers who they use for their businesses.

"If we continually try to force a child to do what he is afraid to do, he will become more timid, and will use his brains and energy, not to explore the unknown, but to find ways to avoid the pressures we put on him." (John Holt)

www.pianoped.com
www.youtube.com/user/UIPianoPed
#939392 01/28/07 12:20 AM
P
OP Offline
P