2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
65 members (Bellyman, brennbaer, busa, Barly, 1957, btcomm, Animisha, 14 invisible), 2,015 guests, and 352 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
Hi, I'm new at pianoworld, but I have been interested in digital(especionally portable) pianos for a long time. At the beginning I'm sorry for my language, I come from Poland.
I've searched many models of portable digitals, but I'm not sure which I should buy. I have played for 12 years on acoustic pianos, so every digital I touch seems very synthetic for me - the hammer action, the sound, the resonance.
I wouldn't think of buying a digital piano(prefer acoustic) but I'm studying now and don't have so many place to have a real piano and I need a good portable piano to play with my band.
So the main thing is that the piano has to be portable. I've compared yamaha p-120, roland fp-3, rd-170 but in my opinion no of them can be called "piano" - is far different from a real grand in every thing. I've read that Kawai mp-8 has very similar touch to real grand, so it was my big hope to have it instead an acoustic real piano, but the sound of it( as I heard on www.Kawai.de) seems to be nothing special I'd say.
The best digital piano I've ever listened to was Yamaha clp-280, but it is not portable:(
The thing is that you can get accustomed to the touch, but can never get accustomed to the sound. If the tone of sound is the same in every dynamic level - it's intolerable - that's the biggest disadvantage I notice playing digitals. Too flat or too deep resonance is the next thing. And the touch too.