2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,145 guests, and 318 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#923870 02/14/09 03:57 PM
Soni63 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi, I'm a seasoned new teacher. I taught piano for eight years 20 years ago, then life made me busy (work, marriage and baby) and I had to give it up due to lack of time. When my daughter turned nine last year I made the plunge to start teaching again.

I'm currently a self-employed Music Together Director/Teacher. Teaching Music Together classes and running the business keep me busy during the day while my daughter is at school and my husband at work. I reserve a couple of hours after school on weekday afternoons for piano lessons and deliberately do not schedule lessons on weekends in order to have time with my family.

My five elementary-school-age piano students fit nicely into my weekday afternoon teaching schedule, but it was inevitable that I'd eventually run into a conflict. I've recently been approached by two moms whose children can only take piano lessons on weekends. One child is clearly overscheduled during the week with other activities; the other relies on his mother for transportation to my home for lessons, and she gets home from work very late.